Curation (EDIM516 Unit 3)

Hi. My name is Porter, and I’m a curator. My digital library is vast, filled with photos, expenses, business cards, links, memories, reminders, music, recipes, and any number of kinds of files you might imagine. All of it, all of it, is stored in the cloud. I’ve tried a ton of curation tools over the years. I think I started with delicious almost a decade ago. I’ve given diigo, Symbaloo, and learni.st a spin as well as many others that were not even memorable enough to list.

The truth is I like Pinterest the best for my daily use. I don’t curate a lot of education things like lesson plans or activities under my own account, but am responsible for the majority of the pins other than DENbrarian boards on the DiscoveryEd Pinterest page. Have you tried Pinterest? I keep my recipes there.

Scoop.it! was one of the first curation tool I tried. I’ve primarily used Scoop.it! to provide resources from presentations. Here’s an example from several years ago on Digital Storytelling. I’ve totally presented to a live audience via scoop.it! I plan to do the same for this class. I’ll upload the video of my presentation to YouTube, then add it as the first resource you’ll see on the finished Scoop. That’s the main reason I chose scoop.it! I like being able to package the entire thing in one place.

Check out the draft I’ve started for my project: Coding in the Classroom on Scoop.it! If you are choosing Scoop.it!, don’t frealk out over all the suggested posts. I totally ignore them. I go find my own resources and use Scoop.it! to curate and SHARE what I found. I know there’s a social element available via Scoop.it!, but I don’t use it.

So, how do I choose what to include? Did you know there is a whole bunch of stuff out there about coding and coding in the classroom? When I think about what to include on my Coding in the Classroom scoop, I’m currently in the mode of scooping anything that I think might be useful in my presentation or that might be a good resource for teachers. As I dig in, I expect I will remove some resources. I suppose the easiest way to explain that is I’m in quantity mode right now. As I build the messaging around my presentation, I’ll start to weed out things so that the final curation is cohesive. My decisions about sources will be influenced by how meaningfully they fit the story I tell. That’s when I’ll hit what I hope is the right blend of quality and quantity. I want resource that are useful, but not overwhelming.

Right now the mix includes some theory and supporting documents for teaching coding in schools. I’ve not found the topic to be extremely controversial. I think people agree that coding should be taught in schools. I have seen some things about barriers and included them. The other thing I am curating in addition to articles about coding in the classroom is a bunch of resources about learning to code. These serve as resources for teachers interested in teaching coding or running a coding club. I’ve even tried out a few of them on my own. I just finished the html5/css course from Code Avengers. Being able to speak intelligently about the different places to learn to code will likely be my biggest challenge. There are so many!

5 thoughts on “Curation (EDIM516 Unit 3)

  1. Hi, Porter!
    So many people are intimidated by coding, so I believe that anything that people can use to overcome this fear is wonderful. I think that all students need, at the very minimum, to be exposed to coding and how it works.

    I have also run our “Hour of Code” program on our campus during the past few years. As the number of participating classrooms grew, I was happy to see other educators join me in showing their students this cool resource.

    Like

Leave a Reply

